Anything worth doing is worth doing poorly…

 

woody-guthrie-resolutions
Woody Guthrie’s goals from 1943

 

Anything worth doing is worth doing poorly…until you learn how to do it correctly. When I first started teaching a little over 10 years ago, I made mistakes, but I got better. In February 2013 I started running every day, I was a poor runner. While I’m still slow and lumbering, I’m more efficient and I’ve improved. When my first child was born 8 years ago, I was not the same parent that I am now. In all aspects of life, I’ve improved by investing time and being intentional.

That brings me to my neglected blog. In order to be a better writer, I have to be willing to create something that is not perfect. As with anything, the only way to get better is to practice, refine, edit, and learn.

“You don’t have to be great to start, but you have to start to be great.” I do know if I’ll ever be great, but I do know that I will get better than I am right now. And the only way to do that is to put in the time and do the difficult work.

Knowing that the only way to be a better writer is to write, one of my goals for 2018 is to publish a blog post each week. As I sit in a hotel in Denton, TX, I realize that publishing a post from each week from February through December will only happen if I have a plan in place. Without a framework, I’ll be in the same place this time next year. I realize now that I need to focus each week on a specific topic. In mapping this out, over the next 11 months, this blog will be a collection of posts on running, parenting/marriage, sales/leadership, and education.

It’s taken me the first 23 days of 2018 to put this together. While it may not always be pretty or refined, I will be a better writer/blogger by the end of 2018.

Stay tuned…

Author: Patrick Fariss

Running every day since February 15th, 2013. @PatrickFariss

Leave a comment