Milestones – Day 1400

Milestone days generally lead to blog posts. I’ve been absent from the blog for too long, and I’m getting a jump on 2017’s goals by writing today. img_3949

On Dec. 16th, 2016, my running streak hit day 1400. Some days are easier than others, and I’ve looked forward to this day for a long time. I don’t believe it’s a coincidence that today’s run coincided with the 1-year anniversary of a new adventure.  and I’ve been blessed with good health and freedom from injuries. In addition, I’ve been blessed with a wife that allows me to continue a daily endeavor that could be diagnosed as obsessive-compulsive.

Over the last 1400 days I’ve been blessed with good health and freedom from injuries. In addition, I’ve been blessed with a wife that allows me to continue a daily endeavor that could be diagnosed as obsessive-compulsive.

Some runs are for learning and listening to podcasts to maximize my time. And some runs are just me and a lonely road at 5 a.m. In the silence, there is room for reflection and prayer. This milestone run was a time to look back at the journey over the last year and to see God’s guidance along the way.

As I look back on the past year, I’ve seen God work in my life in ways I could never imagine. From losing a job to starting over, the last 365 days have had their ups and downs. When I started this streak on Feb. 13th, 2013, I think God knew that this is what I’d need to help get me through a tough year. Friday’s 7 miles gave me the opportunity to look back at the last year and look forward to the future.

In 2017, I’m looking forward to documenting more and sharing the lessons I’ve learned from running and trying to be intentional in life. Watch for more posts on the blog, and I hope I can bring value, encouragement, and inspiration to all who reay. See you down the road…

 

Author: Patrick Fariss

Running every day since February 15th, 2013. @PatrickFariss

Leave a Reply

